The Incredulous Paradise

September 29, 2009 at 9:55 pm 1 comment

I used to write poems all the time, but for the past year or so I just haven’t been inspired. Last night Chase told me I should start writing again to maybe divert some of my anger.  So today I decided to finish one that I had started a couple months ago.

The Incredulous Paradise

Casey Markland

Follow me, through my dreams,

No headstrong queens or emasculated kings,

No witches or wizards at the end of this road,

No one fighting for power in my Xanadu.

There is only one road to this wondrous place,

One fearsome path that seekers must take,

This magical gateway, unbeknownst to man,

A frightful slumber cast by a chilly hand.

A small price to pay for eternal bliss,

A world without inanity, greed, or wickedness,

A place constructed in spite of the rest,

A true wonderland exists, ‘tis no jest.

I’ve fallen down the rabbit hole,

I’ve walked to Emerald City,

I’ve flown to Kubla’s Xanadu,

And still I feel no pity.

These “Wonderlands” are charlatans,

Cloaked in fame and charm,

Beguiling week wanderers,

Who cannot see past arms.

Only the enlightened can enter my domain,

Those who are willing to put the rest to shame,

To expose them for what they truly are,

Asylums of philosophies, keeping us at war.

You can Hyde, but you can’t escape,

What one day you will have to face,

That eternal winter, cold and cruel,

The last path taken, to reach the Golden Rule.

You cannot leave; it’s a one way road,

No ruby slippers, no angry queens,

No fantastical drug induced dreams.

Only the sound of a babbling brook,

Devoid of even a single gleam,

It’s a reality in the form of a dream.

Entry filed under: 1.

Header Analysis for The Incredulous Paradise

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dan  |  October 20, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    “or the past year or so I just haven’t been inspired.”

    Stay up until 4 am, smoke a hand-rolled, and bump a thumbnail of florida snow. You might even need a backup pen. If it’s good enough for Dylan, it’s good enough for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Recent Posts


